There comes a time when you have finished the work on your Dispatch, and it's time to move on to the next task. You have a couple of options, and sometimes people aren't sure whether to Complete and Close, or simply Complete their dispatch. I'm going to share the difference between the two and when it's best to use which options.
Completing a dispatch stops all time associated with the dispatch. It assumes you have completed the necessary work. Completing the dispatch also removes the resource, so that they can move to another dispatch. In addition, if the dispatch is a scheduled event, it uses the completed time as the time stamp for the timing of the next event launch.
Closing a dispatch archives all information from the event and removes it from the open dispatch screen. The dispatch will still be available for edit from the quick history links (Dispatch History Report), but it will not be accessible via the open dispatch screen. In addition you can also close an event without checking the completed box and it will complete and close the dispatch in one step.
When should I Complete but not Close a Dispatch?
- When you need to come back to the dispatch to add more details such as notes or actions and components.
- When you have an internal requirement for somebody else to close the dispatch such as a supervisor or manager.
- The completed time for a dispatch will calculate all associated dispatch costs, such as labor or estimated downtime
- You can complete and close in one step by only checking the close box and clicking "Save and Exit"
- All Resources can see their completed or closed dispatches on their "Home Screen"
- Best practice is to ensure completed dispatches get closed in a timely manner to prevent overcrowding the open dispatch screen. We recommend all completed dispatches be closed within 24 hours.