User Groups?

Comments

3 comments

  • Jeremy Wolfe

    User Groups consist of two different types.

    System defined groups and User defined groups.

    The System defined groups are currently Superuser, Dispatcher, Resource(Technician), Operator, and User. The Superuser group has access to all areas and utilities within the application. The Dispatcher group has access to all areas but not all system utilities as they are not normally needed for this role. The Resource(Technician Group) has access to all areas except for INPUT and ACCESS and can modify dispatches but cannot change times on any of the events. The regular User user group only has access to the reports screen. The operator user group is only for operators and is used when the operator login switch is turned on requiring a login id but no password from the operator input screen to enter events.

    User defined user groups are just that, defined by you to allow/limit access to the application. You can customize the areas that a user group has access to and assign a user to that user group and the user will inherit those permissions in the application. You can add your own custom user group by going to the ACCESS menu and clicking the Add User Group link. You would then add a description for this user group and select all areas that you would like this user group to have access to. Once saved, this user group will appear in the User Groups drop-down box in the Edit User screen.

    Originally answered May 16, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • L2lmail

    Is there an authorization level in dispatch that would allow supervisors or engineers to set up their own notifications for equipment they want without giving them full dispatch level authorization? I was looking around a bit for this but don’t seem to see one.

    Originally answered May 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Jeremy Wolfe

    Currently, the only way to set up notifications is to go into the Access menu and select Notifications Mangement. So any user who would like to set up notifications would need to have permissions to enter the ACCESS area. So the short answer is no. Although you could set up a user defined group and add the ACCESS area to this group and then add a user to this group but they would still have access to the other administrative functions in the ACCESS menu which would probably not be optimal in this situation. This is a great idea though. We could possibly create a user control panel that every single user on the system has access to so they can reset their own password and add notifications for themselves among other things.

    Originally answered May 16, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.