Overview: We often get questions regarding how we handle deleting data and setup configuration in the system. In short, generally there aren't many things that can be deleted in the system. The reason for this is often there are data records tied to the items wishing to be deleted.
How it works? The best way to disable items you wish to no longer use such as dispatch types, users, or asset hierarchy is to inactive them. This will remove them from system usage, but maintain the data for historical reporting purposes. You will often find the Active/Inactive check box within the setup menu option features within the various items (below left).
How to access once inactive? We offer a wide range of filter options for various aspects of the system and the ability to filter for active/inactive records as shown above at right. The filters will default to active items only, so if you wish to view inactive you will need to filter as such.
What about deleting dispatches? You might be thinking, but why can I delete a dispatch? Well in reality you aren't actually deleting it from the system entirely. It simply removes it from reports and the dispatch history. We still allow you to report and view deleted dispatches.
Summary: In the system we are about making data transparent, this has proven to be effective in driving accountability, decision making, and audit readiness. Managing the system to keep it as evergreen as possible is a great way to keep your data relevant and is also key to maintaining the highest possible level of system security.
Quick Tip: Since L2L is a web based solution, it is highly critical to ensure users who are no longer with your company be promptly Inactive from the system.
Please sign in to leave a comment.